Skip to content
Curtin University

CurtinLife news

Find out about news items related to support services at Curtin University. Browse through past and present articles.

Sports Awards Joint 2014 Sportsman of the Year Matthew Swann and Simon Orchard

2015 Curtin University Sports Awards Finalists Announced

[Posted: 9 Nov 2015]

A number of high quality nominations were received for the 2015 Curtin University Sport Awards. Deciding this years finalists was not an easy task for the Curtin Stadium sports team and after much thought we are pleased to announce the 2015 finalists!

The finalists in each category are as follows:

Presidents Shield - Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Gerry Mabarrack (Wesley Curtin Football Club)
  • Scott Hobbs (Wesley Curtin Football Club)
  • Kristen Fairbairn (Curtin University Rugby Club)
  • Jessica Sheridan (Curtin University Football Club)
  • Greg Haig (Curtin University Boat Club)
  • Axel Vekemans (Swordfish Fencing Club)

Sports Club of the Year

  • Wesley Curtin Football Club
  • Curtin Ultimate Frisbee Team
  • Curtin University Rugby Club
  • Curtin University Football Club
  • Curtin University Boat Club

Intervarsity Athlete of the Year

  • Brandon Gibbs (Hockey)
  • Jaccie Gillett (Netball)
  • William Redpath (Judo)
  • Jessica Zimmerman (Water Polo)
  • Sacha Downing (Swimming)

Sportswoman of the Year

  • Emily Gray (Equestrian - Eventing)
  • Hayley Miller (Australian Rules Football & Surf Life Saving)
  • Aleisha Power (Hockey)
  • Zoe Tisdale (Aerobic Gymnastics)
  • Amie Thompson (Synchronised Swimming)

Sportsman of the Year

  • Aaron Younger (Water Polo)
  • Luke McPharlin (Australian Football League)
  • Matthew Swann (Hockey)
  • Thomas Graham (Lacrosse)

The selection panel was made up of a number of high profile personal including:

  • Liane Tooth: Project Officer Pathway Development - Department of Sport and Recreation
  • Professor Marian Tye: Director, Centre for Sport and Recreation Research - Curtin University
  • Michelle Yardley: Gymnastics and Swimming Program Coordinator - WAIS
  • Rami Tawil: Activities Vice President - Curtin University Guild
  • Tarryn Dickerson: Elite Athlete Coordinator - Curtin University

Winners will be announced at the Curtin University Sport Awards Breakfast on Wednesday 11 November.

This event is a great way to recognise and celebrate the contributions and achievements of  members of the Curtin University sporting community during the past year. We wish all the finalists the best of luck and thank everyone who sent through their nominations for this year's awards.