Skip to content
Curtin University

CurtinLife news

Find out about news items related to support services at Curtin University. Browse through past and present articles.

Sports Breakfast

Curtin University 2015 Sports Awards

[Posted: 26 Oct 2015]

Curtin Stadium will be holding their annual Sports Awards breakfast next month to celebrate and congratulate the sporting achievements of its students, sporting clubs, volunteers and alumni throughout the year.

Students that compete at an inter-varsity, state, national and international level will be recognised, and the contributions of Curtin's sporting clubs in adding value to the whole student university experience. 

The event is to be hosted by MC Simon Beaumont, a past ABC and 6PR radio presenter and current WA Department of Sport and Recreation Executive Service Manager.

The nominations for the selection of awards for both the various sporting arenas and behind the scenes. The nominees are as follows:

President’s Shield (Volunteer of the Year)

  • Gerry Mabarrack (Wesley Curtin Football Club)
  • Scott Hobbs (Wesley Curtin Football Club)
  • Kristin Fairbairn (Curtin University Rugby Club)
  • Jess Sheridan (Curtin University Soccer Club)
  • Greg Haig (Curtin University Boat Club)
  • Axel Verkemans (Swordfish Fencing Club)

 Club of the Year

  • Wesley Curtin Football Club
  • Curtin Ultimate Frisbee Team
  • Curtin University Rugby Club
  • Curtin University Soccer Club
  • Curtin University Boat Club

Inter-Varsity Athlete of the Year

  • Brenton McMorran (Ultimate)
  • Amy Woodfield (Hockey)
  • Brandon Gibbs (Hockey)
  • Ben Walkemeyer (Sailing)
  • Jaccie Gillet (Netball)
  • Thomas Redpath (Judo)
  • Jessica Zimmerman (Water Polo)
  • Sacha Downing (Swimming)
  • Zane Hudson (Baseball)

Sportswoman of the Year

  • Gracie Lee (Athletics – Track and Field)
  • Emily Gray (Equestrian)
  • Sacha Downing (Swimming)
  • Hayley Miller (Women’s AFL)
  • Aleisha Power (Hockey)
  • Jessica Zimmerman (Water polo)
  • Zoe Tisdale (Aerobic Gymnastics)
  • Amie Thompson (Synchronised Swimming)

Sportsman of the Year

  • Ryan Evernden (Swimming)
  • Aaron Younger (Water polo)
  • Daniel Strickland (American Football)
  • Luke McPharlin (AFL)
  • Matt Swann (Hockey)
  • Peter Bol (Athletics – Track and Field)
  • Thomas Graham (Lacrosse)
  • Axel Vekemans (Fencing)
  • Dane Haylett-Petty (Rugby Union)
  • Julian Konle (Athletics – Track and Field)  

To see the 2015 finalists visit